Call 911, he hasn’t tweeted all day! He must have died.

Like a lot of you I follow a bunch of people on Twitter and some of them are constantly tweeting.  Indeed I had to turn one off today because he was filling my Twitter inbox and I couldn’t see any other tweets.  One of the other people I follow, who normally does a pretty good job of tweeting – say 10 a day (about 9 more a day than I average).  Today this person didn’t tweet.  Not once.  Indeed the absence of his tweets mad me wonder if he was OK.  Now I wasn’t exactly about to call 911 but it did make me realize that Twitter has become a measure of someone’s state of mind etc.  I could easily see that you could develop a tool that analyzed people’s tweets to determine what kind of mood they are in and whether this would be a good or a bad time to call them and ask them for that $100 they owe you, or to buy something from you.  Of course this would only work with the people that tweet in enough volume but that guy I turned off earlier today would be a perfect candidate for such a tool.  So, you prolific tweeters – look out, you may be getting that sales call right when you least expect it and you are unwittingly at your weakest.

One Comment on “Call 911, he hasn’t tweeted all day! He must have died.”


Leave a Reply

